Wesley Celebrates 2015-16 Successes with Awards Banquet

Wesley Celebrates 2015-16 Successes with Awards Banquet

DOVER, Del. - The Wesley College Athletic Department was proud to host all of its senior student-athletes and team MVPs at the annual Awards Banquet held on Thursday evening in the Wesley College Chapel.

All of Wesley's 18 teams were represented and recognized on an exciting night in Downtown Dover. The coveted Athlete of the Year awards went to a pair of familiar faces. Wolverines quarterback Joe Callahan received his second straight Male Athlete of the Year award while versatile track and field standout Elizsha Streeter earned her second consecutive Female Athlete of the Year award. 

Callahan was a no-brainer for the award after receiving the nation's top award for Division III football players, the Gagliardi Trophy. He threw for an NCAA Division III record 5,063 yards and 55 touchdowns as he led the Wolverines to their 11th straight NCAA Tournament appearance and their eighth consecutive quarterfinals berth. 

Streeter earned her second straight award after another dominant performance in both indoor and outdoor track. The three-sport athlete also ran cross country this fall. In 2015 alone, Elizsha was a five-time All-CAC First Team selection, winning two events at the Indoor CAC Championships and three at the Outdoor CAC Championships. She was also a member of Wesley's 4x400m relay team that finished third at the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships and earned All-American status.

The Wentworth Award was given to men's lacrosse senior Jason Berry and dual-sport senior Morgan Seymour for their courage, commitment, sportsmanship, and leadership as Wesley College student-athletes. Berry returned for his senior season on the men's lacrosse team after a year overseas, serving our country in Afghanistan as part of the military. Seymour was a dual-sport athlete that also held the position of Student-Athlete Advisory Committee President, as well as Student Ambassador Coordinator for Wesley College Admissions. 

The Pat Knight Award was granted to Wesley Softball parent and superfan Chris Engel. Chris has kept up an outstanding blog featuring the Wesley College Softball team as well as other Wesley athletic teams for the past three years. He has taken countless photos and updates nearly every day. Wesley coaches have used the blog as a recruiting tool. His support and volunteerism within the department stood out among the Wesley community. He is the father of Wesley junior Lily Engel.

All of the Wesley College teams announced their MVPs and honored their seniors for the 2015-2016 season at the ceremony. To see the full photo album, click here.

Major Awards
Male Athlete of the Year: Joe Callahan (football)
Female Athlete of the Year: Elizsha Streeter (women's track & field)
Shirley Wentworth Award: Jason Berry (men's lacrosse), Morgan Seymour (field hockey & softball)
Pat Knight Award: Chris Engel 

Most Valuable Players
Baseball: Eric Speidel
Men's Cross Country: Jamier Bailey
Women's Cross Country: Danae Carter
Men's Basketball: Wayne Lennon
Women's Basketball: Brionna Johnson
Field Hockey: Kayla Fromal
Football: Joe Callahan
Golf: Dylan Chessher
Men's Lacrosse: 
Women's Lacrosse: Savannah Clough
Men's Soccer: C.J. Harvell
Women's Soccer: Janiah Moore
Softball: Nina Marcano
Men's Track & Field: Anthony Simpson (indoor), Carlton Sheppard (outdoor)
Women's Track & Field: Elizsha Streeter (indoor), Angel Hall (outdoor)
Volleyball: Tionne Graves-Brown