AP Tabs Robinson Little All-American

AP Tabs Robinson Little All-American - Dec 14, 2007

Bryan Robinson

NEW YORK, N.Y. - Wesley College senior defensive end Bryan Robinson added another All-American honor to his resume as the Harrington, Delaware native earned a place on the Associated Press Little All-America First Team.

The AP Little All-America team honors players from Division II, III and the NAIA.  The team includes over 400 programs at those three levels.

His selection gives the Wolverines five AP Little All-Americans in as many years.  Mario Harris and Michael Clarke earned the honor last season and Rocky Myers was chosen after both the 2003 and 2004 seasons.  Including Kevin Fowlkes (1990) and Brandon Steinheim (1996), Robinson earned the seventh selection in program history.

"Bryan has demonstrated over the last four years that he was a dominant player at the small college level," Wesley Head Coach Mike Drass noted.  "AP Little All-American is the highest honor a small college football player can receive."

This season, he was second on the team with 88 tackles and paced the conference with 28 tackles for loss and 11 sacks.  For his efforts, Robinson had already been acknowledged as the ACFC Defensive Player of the Year, an All-ACFC First Team selection, was chosen to represent Team USA in the Aztec Bowl, and was named All-South Region First Team by D3football.com.

He helped lead a Wolverine defense that finished the year 20th in the nation in total defense and 14th in tackles for loss.   Wesley finished the 2007 season 11-2 and advanced all the way to the NCAA Quarterfinals.  The Wolverines also went a perfect 4-0 in the Atlantic Central Football Conference, earning their third straight conference title.

Robinson completed a stand out career in 2007, during which he set the Wesley career records for sacks with 47 and had 92.5 career tackles for loss.  He also ranks seventh all-time at Wesley with 337 tackles.

He is a four-time first team All-ACFC selection and 2007 was the second time he was named the conference's Defensive Player of the Year.  He has also been named the ECAC Southwest Defensive Player of the Year, and is a two-time All-American by both D3football.com and Don Hansen's Football Gazette.

"Bryan has had 23 NFL scouts in to watch him play this fall," Drass continued.  "Hopefully, he will get a chance to continue his career." 

Associated Press Little All-America Team



Quarterback - David Knighton, junior, 6-foot-1, 225 pounds, Harding.

Running backs - Xavier Omon, senior, 5-11, 220, Northwest Missouri State; Danny Woodhead, senior, 5-9, 200, Chadron State.

Wide receivers - Weston Dressler, senior, 5-8, 164, North Dakota; Almonzo Banks, senior, 6-2, 220, West Liberty State.

Tight end - Kolo Kapanui, senior, 6-5, 255, West Texas A&M

Linemen - Ben Hochstein, senior, 6-4, 298, Nebraska-Omaha; Heath Benedict, junior, 6-6, 320, Newberry; Brandon Barnes, senior, 6-2, 322, Grand Valley State; Mackenzy Bernadeau, senior, 6-4, 303, Bentley; Tim McCutcheon, senior, 6-4, 305, California, Pa.

All-purpose player - Ashton Gronewold, senior, 5-10, 190, Missouri-Rolla.

Kicker - Jared Guberman, junior, 5-10, 190, West Georgia.


Linemen - Brandon Swain, junior, 6-4, 255, West Texas A&M; Curtis Johnson, senior, 6-3, 245, Clark Atlanta; Kurt Kissner, senior, 6-3, 245, Mesa State; Bryan Robinson, senior, 6-3, 292, Wesley.

Linebackers - Michael Eubanks, senior, 6-2, 225, Delta State; Jerrell Freeman, senior, 6-2, 205, Mary Hardin-Baylor; Anthony Adams, senior, 6-2, 240, Grand Valley State.

Defensive backs - Randy Kush, junior, 5-10, 189, Nebraska-Omaha; Cary Williams, senior, 6-2, 190, Washburn; Kendall Ricketts, senior, 5-10, 190, Central Missouri; Matt Kostelnik, senior, 6-1, 198, Mount Union.

Punter - Michael Podobnik, junior, 6-0, 230, Arkansas Tech.



Quarterback - Mark Nicolet, senior, Hillsdale.

Running backs - Bernard Scott, junior, Abilene Christian; Justin Beaver, senior, Wisconsin-Whitewater.

Wide receivers - Scott Peters, senior, Winona State; Cedric Jones, sophomore, Valdosta State.

Linemen - Brandon Bennett, senior, Williamette; Derek Blanchard, senior, Mount Union; Tony Burson, senior, Midwestern State; Vince Cashdollar, senior, Ashland; Christian Morton, senior, South Dakota.

Tight end - Mike Peterson, senior, Northwest Missouri State.

All-purpose player - De'Audra Dix, senior, Johnson C. Smith.

Kicker - Tyler Lorenz, sophomore, California, Pa.


Linemen - Louis Ellis, junior, Shaw; Mike Czerwien, senior, Waynesburg; Jake Visser, junior, Ferris State; Dan Skutta, junior, Grand Valley State

Linebackers - Jared Brock, junior, West Texas A&M; Lateef Ferguson, senior, West Chester; Adrian Pynenberg, senior, Wabash.

Defensive backs - Ranardrick Phillips, senior, Tarleton State; Brandon Carr, senior, Grand Valley State; Brandon Carr, senior, Bethel; Sherard Reynolds, junior, Valdosta State.

Punter - Alex Groh, sophomore, Occidental.



Quarterback - Greg Micheli, junior, Mount Union.

Running backs - Nate Kmic, junior, Mount Union; Devron Wallace, senior, Shepherd.

Wide receivers - Elfren Quiles, senior, Kutztown; Jake Allen, senior, Mississippi College.

Tight end - Bryan Bergman, senior, Carthage.

Linemen - Caleb Woodall, senior, Mary Hardin-Baylor; Reid Kirby, junior, Northwest Missouri State; Patrick Gildea, senior, Southern Connecticut; J.D. Whited, senior, North Alabama; Brennan Fortune, senior, St. John Fisher.

All-purpose player - Tyler Sherden, senior, Luther.

Kicker - Jeff Schebler, sophomore, Wisconsin-Whitewater.


Linemen - Don Miller, senior, Alfred; Ron Ellington, senior, Catawba; Kirby Griffin, junior, California, Pa.; Pat McCullough, senior, Mount Union.

Linebackers - Will Clewis, senior, Central Oklahoma; Kyle Follweiler, senior, Wilkes; Jared Erspamer, senior, Northwest Missouri State.

Defensive backs - Nick Weber, senior, Wartburg; Clay Hamblen, senior, Georgetown, Ky.; Broderick Mondy, senior, Northeastern State; Chris Hemphill, senior, Central Washington.

Punter - Brandon Larkin, senior, Clark Atlanta.