Wesley Wins ECAC Lambert Meadowlands Award

Wesley Wins ECAC Lambert Meadowlands Award - Jan 07, 2008

CAPE COD, Mass. - For the first time in school history, the Wesley College football team was awarded the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Lambert Meadowlands Award.

The Wolverines win the award by finishing first in the final Division III ECAC Lambert Meadowlands Poll presented by Field Turf Tarkett. 

The first place teams in the final poll will be presented with their Lambert Meadowlands Awards during the Eastern College Football Awards Banquet, held in the Pegasus Restaurant at the Meadowlands Sports Complex on February 19, 2008.  In addition to Wesley, West Virginia (Bowl Subdivision), Delaware (Championship Subdivision) and California (Pa.) (Division II) will receive awards.

Wesley finished the 2007 season with a record of 11-2 and went undefeated in conference play to win its third consecutive Atlantic Central Football Conference Championship.  The Wolverines also made their third straight trip to the NCAA Division III Championships, falling to Mary Hardin-Baylor in the national quarterfinals.  Wesley finished the season ranked fifth in both of the major top 25 rankings - the American Football Coaches Association and D3football.com.

Mike Drass, the Wesley College head coach, was honored by the selection.  "It is an honor to win the Lambert/Meadowlands Trophy," he noted. "When I think about the tradition of the Lambert Meadowlands Awards through the ECAC, I am speechless. There have been so many great teams honored over the years and to be considered one of them, to be considered the best the East is a tremendous compliment for our kids and our program."

The team set numerous school records during the season.  On offense, the Wolverines tallied school records with 3,237 rushing yards and 6,192 total yards.  The offense ranked ninth in the nation in yards per game and 20th in rushing offense.  At 1.08 sacks allowed per game, the offensive line ranked 18th in Division III. 

The defense that finished the year 20th in the nation in total defense and 14th in tackles for loss.

A school record six players were named to the D3football.com All-America team.

Established in 1936 as the Lambert Trophy to recognize supremacy in Eastern college football, the award has since grown to recognize the best team in the East in the Bowl Subdivision. In 1957, the Lambert Cup was created to recognize non-Division I-A teams, and in 1966 a Division III award was added. In 1983, the Lambert family decided the Meadowlands Sports Complex would be the best organization with a sincere and involved interest in college athletics to sponsor and manage the award,and since that time, the awards have been known as the Lambert Meadowlands Awards.

To be eligible for the Lambert Meadowlands Award, a school must be located in the East or play half of its schedule against eligible Lambert teams. The territory includes New York, New Jersey, New England and Pennsylvania, while teams in the bordering states of Delaware, Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia and the District of Columbia qualify if half of their schedule features eligible teams.

ECAC® Lambert Meadowlands
Division III Football Poll
presented by FieldTurf Tarkett
1. Wesley                              
2. St. John Fisher                          
3. Muhlenberg                                  
4. Washington & Jefferson  
5. College of New Jersey          
6. Curry                                 
6. Salisbury                          
8. Ithaca                              
9. Hobart                                    
9. Rensselaer                        

ECAC® Lambert Meadowlands
Bowl Subdivision (I-A) Football Poll
presented by FieldTurf Tarkett

1. West Virginia                   
2. Boston College                 
3. Penn State                         
4. Cincinnati                         
5. South Florida                    
6. Rutgers                             
7. Connecticut                            
8. Louisville                                 
9. Navy                                         
10. Pittsburgh                                   

ECAC® Lambert Meadowlands
Championship Subdivision (I-AA) Football Poll
presented by FieldTurf Tarkett

1. Delaware                           
2. Richmond                         
3. Massachusetts                          
4. James Madison                 
5. Harvard                             
6. New Hampshire                
7. Yale                                  
8. Fordham                           
9. Villanova                                 
10. Hofstra                             

ECAC® Lambert Meadowlands
Division II Football Poll
presented by FieldTurf Tarkett

1. California (PA)                 
2. Indiana Univ. (PA)           
3. West Chester                    
4. Southern Conn. State        
5. Bloomsburg                                  
6. Slippery Rock                   
7. Bryant                               
7. Edinboro                           
9. Bentley                             
10. American International