Wesley Named ECAC DIII Team of the Year

Wesley Named ECAC DIII Team of the Year - Jan 17, 2008


CAPE COD, Mass. - Wesley College has been named the 2007 Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division III Football Team of the Year presented by FieldTurf Tarkett.  It is the first time in school history the Wolverines have earned the honor.

The ECAC also rewarded West Virginia University, the University of Delaware, and West Chester University of Pennsylvania with ECAC Team of the Year awards.

Wesley finished the 2007 season with a record of 11-2 and went undefeated in conference play to win its third consecutive Atlantic Central Football Conference Championship.  The Wolverines also made their third straight trip to the NCAA Division III Championships, falling to Mary Hardin-Baylor in the national quarterfinals.  Wesley finished the season ranked fifth in both of the major top 25 rankings - the American Football Coaches Association and D3football.com.  Two weeks ago, the Wolverines were awarded the ECAC Lambert Meadowlands Award.

The team set numerous school records during the season.  On offense, the Wolverines tallied school records with 3,237 rushing yards and 6,192 total yards.  The offense ranked ninth in the nation in yards per game and 20th in rushing offense.  At 1.08 sacks allowed per game, the offensive line ranked 18th in Division III. 

The defense that finished the year 20th in the nation in total defense and 14th in tackles for loss.

A school record six Wesley players were named to the D3football.com All-America team.

West Virginia University is the ECAC Team of the Year at the Football Bowl Subdivision level (Division I-A). The Mountaineers posted an 11-2 overall record this season, and represented the BIG EAST Conference in the Bowl Championship Series. The season was capped off a 48-28 win over Oklahoma in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl, which moved the Mountaineers into the No. 9 position in the final BCS Standings. This year marks the fourth time in school history that West Virginia has been named ECAC Team of the Year.

The ECAC Team of the Year in the Football Championship Subdivision (Division I-AA) is the University of Delaware. The Blue Hens have now received this award 11 times. Behind head coach K.C. Keeler, Delaware advanced all the way to the National Championship game before falling to Appalachian State, 49-21. The Blue Hens finished the season with an 11-4 record as the No. 2 ranked team in the FCS Coaches Poll. After completing the Colonial Athletic Association schedule with a 5-3 record, Delaware's run to the title game was highlighted by a 37-29 victory over previously unbeaten and No. 1 Northern Iowa.

For the third time in the last four seasons, West Chester University of Pennsylvania will receive the ECAC Division II Team of the Year Award. Head coach Bill Zwaan guided his team to a final record of 9-3 this season, and a perfect 5-0 mark in Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference action. In the first round of the NCAA Tournament, the Golden Rams fell to conference foe Indiana University (PA), 45-35. West Chester finished with the No. 16 ranking in the final Division II AFCA Coaches Poll of the year.

The teams will receive their awards on February 19, 2008 at the annual Eastern College Football Awards Banquet on February 19, 2008 presented by FieldTurf Tarkett, an event held in the Pegasus Restaurant at the Meadowlands Sports Complex in East Rutherford, N.J.