Sottilare, Mayes Lead ECAC Honors

Justin Sottilare
Justin Sottilare

CAPE COD, Mass. - Wesley College's Justin Sottilare (Columbia, Md./Oakland Mills) and Chris Mayes (Waldorf, Md./Westlake) took home Player of the Year Awards as the 2010 ECAC South All-Star team was announced.

A junior quarterback, Sottilare was been chosen as the 2010 ECAC Divsion III South Football Offensive Player of the Year. The ACFC Co-Offensive Player of the Year started the season as the back-up, but became the starter in the first week due to injury. Sottilare passed for 3,384 yards and 38 touchdowns in 13 games played. His passing efficiency of 162.7 was ranked 14th in the nation in Division III.

Mayes, an All-American defensive end, received the 2010 Defensive Player of the Year award. The junior notched  17.5 sacks in 13 games to go along with his 45 solo tackles and three forced fumbles.

Joining them on the ECAC South All-Star team were wide receiver Ellis Krout (Dallas, Texas/Roosevelt), guard Anthony West (Laurel, Del./Laurel) and corner Marcus Wilson (Pennsauken, N.J./Camden Catholic).

Krout topped 1,000 yards on the year and scored 18 touchdowns to set the school record with 38 in a career.  West has been a mainstay on an offensive line blocking for a unit that ranks among the national leaders in total offense, scoring, and pass efficiency.  Wilson tied a school single season record with seven interceptions after moving from safety to corner.

Wesley, the 2010 ECAC Division III Team of the Year, is represented by five players to lead all schools in 2010 ECAC South Football All-Stars. Delaware Valley follows with four selections.

The ECAC will honor the players and rookies of the year in each division and region on February 17 at the annual Eastern College Football Awards Banquet presented by FieldTurf, an event held in the Touchdown Club at the New Meadowlands Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J.

Wesley finished 12-1 and advanced to the NCAA Semifinals.