Wesley Honored at ECAC Banquet

Wesley's ECAC All-Stars with the Lambert Meadowlands Trophy
Wesley's ECAC All-Stars with the Lambert Meadowlands Trophy


EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. - Members of the Wesley College football program traveled to the Meadowlands for the annual ECAC Lambert Meadowlands Awards Banquet.

At the banquet, the team was presented with the ECAC Division III Team of the Year and Lambert Meadowlands awards given for Eastern football supremacy.

Several Wolverines were honored individually.  Quarterback Justin Sottilare (Columbia, Md./Oakland Mills) was named the ECAC Division III South Offensive Player of the Year, while defensive end Chris Mayes (Waldorf, Md./Westlake) was chosen as the Defensive Player of the Year.

Sottilare, Mayes, guard Anthony West (Laurel, Del./Laurel), wide receiver Ellis Krout (Dallas, Texas/Roosevelt) and corner Marcus Wilson (Pennsauken, N.J./Camden Catholic) were recognized as ECAC Division III South All-Stars.

Wesley finished the 2010 season 12-1, won its sixth straight ACFC Championship.  The Wolverines were awarded the top seed in the Division III Football Championships and advanced to the national semifinals for the fourth time in six years.