Kobasa Named Finalist for Glenn Robinson Award

Kobasa Named Finalist for Glenn Robinson Award

BOSTON, Mass. – Wesley College head men's basketball coach Jerry Kobasa has been named one of 12 finalists for the 2014 Glenn Robinson Division III Coach of the Year Award, it was announced on Sunday. The award is named after the longtime Franklin & Marshall coach who has over 800 wins and is currently 12th on the all-time wins list.

The winner of the 2014 Robinson Award will be announced at the CollegeInsider.com Awards Banquet on April 4 in Dallas, the site of the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Championship.

Kobasa, who was named the Capital Athletic Conference and NABC Mid-Atlantic Region Coach of the Year, guided the Wolverines to a program-best 23-4 record, it's first-ever NCAA Tournament victory and a CAC regular season conference title. Named the DIII News National Coach of the Month for November, Kobasa is the winningest coach in Wesley College history at 151-95 (.614). 

When combining Kobasa's record as a head coach at nearby Sussex Tech and Smyrna High School, Kobasa is now 400-225 (.640) all-time.

Other finalists include Terry Butterfield (Texas-Dallas), Jeff Charney (SUNY Purchase), Greg Dunne (Brockport State), Gary Grzesk (St. Norbert), David Hixon (Amherst), Jerry Kobasa (Wesley), Gerry Matthews (Richard Stockton), Pat Miller (UW-Whitewater), Mitch Oliver (Albertus Magnus), Alan Seretti (Dickinson), Rod Wood (Mary Washington) and Jason Zimmerman (Emory).