Men's Lacrosse Falls on Student-Athlete Day

Men's Lacrosse Falls on Student-Athlete Day

DOVER, Del. – Wesley College's men's lacrosse team dropped a Capital Athletic Conference matchup to St. Mary's, 12-5, on Saturday afternoon at Scott D. Miller Stadium.  The Wolverines fall to 3-6 on the year and 0-3 in the CAC while the Seahawks improve to 8-4 overall and 3-0 in league play.

Joe Donato put Wesley on top, 1-0, scoring just 16 seconds in after he picked up a ground ball off a saved shot attempt by Michael McQuarrie, who won the opening faceoff. The lead would be short lived however as St. Mary's tied the score just over three minutes later and added another two scores to go up 3-1 after one quarter.

St. Mary's extended its lead with a goal to open the second, but Jathan Mahaffey found the back of the net on a man-up opportunity with an assist from James Moss with 7:15 left in the half.  Once again the Seahawks ran off three-straight to close the half and added another three to open the third before Mahaffey's second goal with 1:19 left in the third.

Both teams scored twice in the fourth with Patrick Lipari tallying an unassisted goal before finding Mahaffey on a behind-the-back goal.  Mahaffey's hat trick was his third of the season.

McQuarrie, Donato and Dan Tryon recorded a team-high four ground balls for Wesley while Eric Bohns caused a game-high three turnovers in his collegiate debut.

Matt Ryan kept the game close for the Wolverines, stopping a career-high 23 shots.

Patrick Mull and Conor Jordan led the Seahawks with three points apiece while Scott Marsh made ten saves.

At halftime, the Wesley College Athletic Department, as well as President William N. Johnston and Faculty Athletic Representative Dr. Raymond Phillips, honored 122 student-athletes for National Student-Athlete Day.  The student-athletes honored all recorded at least a 3.0 grade-point-average in the fall semester or have maintained at least a 3.0 GPA during their academic career.

The Wolverines return to action on April 10 when they host Salisbury in a 7 pm start.