Men’s Lacrosse Closes Season With Win Over Southern Virginia

Men’s Lacrosse Closes Season With Win Over Southern Virginia

Reynolds Tribute
Apr 18, 2015

DOVER, Del. – Wesley College's men's lacrosse team closed out its season with a 21-8 Capital Athletic Conference victory over Southern Virginia on Saturday afternoon at Scott D. Miller Stadium.  The Wolverines finish the year with a 6-8 record and a 1-7 mark in the CAC while the Knights fall to 1-14 and 0-8 in league play.

The matchup with the Knights was part of the 12th Annual Dave Reynolds Lacrosse Festival in honor of former Wolverines head coach Dave Reynolds who died in 2003.  All proceeds from the two-day festival go to the Dave Reynolds Memorial Scholarship.

Jack Redefer tallied a game-high seven points on three goals with four assists while Sam Seibert had a game-high five goals to go with an assist. John Chenault added five points on four goals and an assist while James Moss scored four times in his final collegiate game.

Hunter Oleszczuk also notched a hat trick while Devin Hyatt matched his three points with a goal and two assists.

Jack O'Neill dominated at the 'X', winning 23-of-28 faceoffs for a career-high 17 ground balls.  Eric Bohns was second to him with five ground balls to go with a team-high four caused turnovers.

Two goals by Redefer was sandwiched by tallies from Moss and Hyatt as Wesley scored the first four goals of the game before the Knights got on the board with 8:24 left in the period.  Chenault then scored the final three goals of period and the Wolverines blanked SVU, 6-0 in the second to take a 13-1 halftime lead.

Wesley emptied its bench in the second half and the Navy & White outscored the Knights, 4-3 in the third before tallying the first four goals of the final period.

Sam Kennedy got the nod in goal for his final career game and stopped nine shots in 54 minutes of action.

Anthony Good recorded three goals and four points to lead Southern Virginia.

Prior to the game, the Wolverines honored its six seniors: Jack O'Neill, Sam Kennedy, Kyle Funk, Sylvester Tatman, Josh Ladd and James Moss.