Eado, Bundy Victorious at Frank Colden Invite in Record Times

Eado, Bundy Victorious at Frank Colden Invite in Record Times

COLLEGEVILLE, Pa. – Freshman Urgy Eado and senior Matt Bundy won the Mile and 60m Hurdles in school-record time to lead the Wesley College men's track & field team at the Frank Colden Invitational on Saturday hosted by Ursinus College.  The meet was the Wolverines' final tuneup for the Capital Athletic Conference Championships which will be held in two weeks.

Eado won the Mile in 4:32.70, outkicking Immaculata's Angel Chimal-Rodriguez by one-hundredth of a second.  A native of Rockville, Md., and the 2014 All-Gazette Boys Outdoor Track & Field Athlete of the Year, Eado broke the old school-record held by Kevin Clements by nearly 13 seconds.  Finishing just behind Eado in sixth place was classmate Ja'mier Bailey in 4:48.26 which just missed school-record time.

Eado and Bailey also made up half of the record-breaking 4x800m Relay which finished second in 8:22.55.  Leading off the relay was sophomore Anthony Brinkley, who ran his first collegiate 800m and freshman Luis Arteaga.  The combination shattered the old school-record by 32-plus seconds which was held by Adeola James and former Wolverines Mach Jackson, Will Scott and Michael Lechner.

For the third time in his career, Bundy clocked an 8.19 in the 60m hurdles to take the 60m hurdles title.  Freshman Roland Attoh-Okine took fifth in the event in 8.61 and also took fifth in the 200m Dash in 23.65 while sophomore Patrick Schlosser earned the silver in 23.06.

Three other Wolverines medaled in individual events as freshman Vicco Bedell took second in the 400m Dash (51.50), sophomore De'Vaughn Trader third in the triple jump (42-03.50) and freshman James Okike third in the high jump (6-02.75).  Okike's mark was a personal record while sophomore Brandin Somerville took fifth in the high jump with a personal-record 6-00.75.

Showcasing its sprint depth, Wesley had a pair of 4x200m Relay teams run impressive times with the A team of Bundy, Bedell, Attoh-Okine and sophomore DaJahn Lowery taking second in 1:32.84.  The B squad of freshmen Rahim Harris and Billy Peyton, along with sophomores Greg Taylor and Will Johnson taking fourth in 1:34.70.