Four Wolverines named First Team All-ECAC

Photos by Angela Benefield
Photos by Angela Benefield

DANBURY, Conn. – Four Wesley College football players were named to the 2017 Division III All-Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference (ECAC) First Team on Tuesday.

Freshman defensive end Stefon Woodruff earned ECAC Defensive Rookie of the Year honors and was named to the All-ECAC First Team while senior offensive lineman Matt Gono, senior linebacker Samer Manna and sophomore running back E.J. Lee also picked up first-team honors.

Woodruff led the Wolverines in tackles for loss (19.0) and sacks (12.0). He recorded 53 tackles, five quarterback hurries, three forced fumbles and a fumble recovery. He was the only freshman to be named All-ECAC.

Lee rushed for 1,582 yards and scored 22 rushing touchdowns to lead the New Jersey Athletic Conference (NJAC). Lee also caught 26 passes for 252 yards and two touchdowns. He ranks fifth in Division III in rushing touchdowns and seventh in rushing yards. Lee was named the NJAC Offensive Player of the Year back on Nov. 17.

A Gagliardi Trophy semifinalist, Gono helped paved the way for the best offense in the NJAC and five All-NJAC players in 2017. One of the best offensive linemen in the country, regardless of division, scouts from all 32 NFL teams have been to Wesley's campus to see Gono play. Gono was an ECAC All-Star after the 2015 season and was named to the All-NJAC First Team in 2017.

Manna led the Wolverines and finished second in the NJAC in tackles with 112 in 2017. He also notched 10.5 tackles for loss, four pass breakups, four passes defended, three forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries, two quarterback hurries and a sack. Manna collected ECAC All-Star nods after the 2015 season.

The Wolverines finished the 2017 season 10-2 overall and 9-0 in the NJAC, to earn the NJAC Regular Season Championship for the third consecutive year and their 13th straight berth in the NCAA Championship Tournament.