Wesley football awards told at annual banquet

Photo by Angela Benefield
Photo by Angela Benefield

DOVER, Del. – The Wesley College football team held its annual year-end awards banquet Sunday at the Modern Maturity Center in Dover.

National awards, regional awards, team awards and special recognitions were given out at the banquet. Wesley alumnus and 2016 Most Valuable Player Jamar Baynard was on hand to present the Most Valuable Player of 2017 to offensive tackle Matt Gono

13 players received 10 team awards. Award winners included:

The Wolverines finished the 2017 season 10-2 overall and 9-0 in the New Jersey Athletic Conference (NJAC) to earn the NJAC Regular Season Championship for the third consecutive year and their 13th straight berth in the NCAA Championship Tournament.