Wesley Football awards told at year-end banquet

Photo by Angela Benefield
Photo by Angela Benefield



DOVER, Del. – The Wesley College football team held its annual year-end awards banquet Sunday at the Modern Maturity Center in Dover.

National awards, regional awards, team awards and special recognitions were given out at the banquet, headlined by D3football.com All-American Alex Kemp being named the 2018 Team Most Valuable Player. Seniors graduating the program were also honored at the ceremony.

15 players received 13 team awards. Award winners included:

Offensive Rookie of the Year – Andrew Risper

Defensive Rookie of the Year – Tarrance Mitchell

Special Teams Player of the Year – Corterris Simpson

Most Improved Offensive Player – Elijah Minter

Most Improved Defensive Player – Isiah Mitchell

Senior Scholar-Athlete – Ben Campbell / Devin Miller

Naselli Award - Offense (Best Skill Player) – Ruhann Peele

Naselli Award - Defense (Best Skill Player) – Daquay Harris-Winbush

Ken Pippin Lineman of the Year – Will Scott / Shymere Vessels

Kerry Horney Award (Top Tackler) – Coray Williams

Defensive Player of the Year – Cappadonna Miller

Offensive Player of the Year – E.J. Lee

Most Valuable Player – Alex Kemp

The Wolverines finished the season with an Eastern College Athletic Conference bowl victory over Westminster (Pa.) to continue their streak of 14 consecutive postseason appearances.