NJAC Announces Plans for Football

NJAC Announces Plans for Football

PITMAN—The New Jersey Athletic Conference (NJAC) Board of Athletic Administrators, in coordination with the administration at each of its full-member and associate football member institutions, today announced its plans for the sport of football during the 2021 spring semester. The NJAC will utilize a divisional structure to provide its football student-athletes with a limited competition season during the month of March.     

The NJAC season will commence during the weekend of March 6-7 with each participating program engaging in a scrimmage against a fellow conference opponent. League play will then officially begin the following weekend with the first countable contests taking place during the weekend of March 13-14. Each team will also participate in two more weekends of league play with the NJAC season concluding on March 27-28.

The NCAA Sport Science Institute Resocialization Recommendations for the Return to Sport will be followed in adherence with the NJAC competition plan that has been developed for football. Under the league scheduling model, each team will play one game against its divisional opponents, as well as one game against a cross divisional opponent. Only games against divisional opponents will count in the conference standings.        

Under the NJAC competition plan developed by the Board of Athletic Administrators and approved by the NJAC Presidents Council, each member institution will be given the opportunity to determine whether or not it will participate in each league sport that is scheduled during the spring 2021 semester. Christopher Newport University, Kean University, Montclair State University, Salisbury University, Wesley College and William Paterson University have elected to participate in the sport of football.       

The six programs will be split into a divisional alignment, with Kean, Montclair State and William Paterson comprising the North Division, and CNU, Salisbury and Wesley comprising the South Division. Teams will compete for divisional championships, and divisional all-conference honors and league awards will be selected at the conclusion of the season.  

Decisions about campus spectator policies will be made by each institution at a later date.